fbpx
    Today's picks

    WhatsApp ALERT – Great new feature has this one big flaw you NEED to know about

    WhatsApp fans have been warned about a flaw in the chat app’s recently added delete message feature.
    WhatsApp is used by more than 1.3billion people around the world each month, and is one of the most popular smartphone apps around.
    On New Year’s Eve WhatsApp broke its record for the most amount of messages sent in one day, with 75billion messages sent on NYE 2017.
    The staggering stats underline the huge amount of people that use WhatsApp each and every day.
    And now fans of the Facebook-owned service have been put on alert about a loophole found in one of the chat app’s new features.
    Last October WhatsApp rolled out it’s long-awaited ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature.
    The new addition to the iOS and Android chat app let users delete sent messages.
    So, people who had sent an embarrassing message by accident could at last remove it from a conversation.
    However, there was one big catch – WhatsApp users could only delete messages within seven minutes of sending it.
    To be able to use the WhatsApp delete sent messages feature, the sender and the recipient also both had to be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
    Describing the feature, the WhatsApp team said: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. 
    “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
    “Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. 
    “Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”
    However, it’s now been discovered that the WhatsApp delete message feature has one loophole.
    The Next Web reported that a deleted message from WhatsApp continues to appear in a conversation if it has been quoted.
    The tech website said: “We noticed that quoted messages in group chats continue to show in quotes even after they have been wiped. 
    “Attempting the same thing in a private chat bred the exact same results.”
    Screenshots the site posted show how the loophole works.
    express.co.uk